The Untz Logo

Favorite ThisSaturate Records lays claim to this dope EP

Published: November 6, 2018

By: Jonathan Gross

Name a more iconic duo from Halifax. I'll wait.

OK, so Nova Scotia isn't all that well known for bass, but dope is about to change that. This trending pair just landed a major EP on Saturate Records, so you know their pedigree is solid.

The German label is sporting the 8-track EP that features 5 original tracks and 3 major remixes from Moniker, FRQ NCY, and NIK P.

Starting with a bang, dope kicks things off with “PMTB,” short for “pass me the blunt,” but really it's “pass me the bass.” This banger definitely gives us DMVU and Peekaboo vibes with its explosive hook.

That sort of trend continues on “Noise,” “It Ain't Bangin',” and “Rollin' Up,” but there are some serious Bleep Bloop/Ethan Glass slime punk vibes on “Lit In The Rave.”

The remixes are just as big as the originals. Moniker goes in on “PTMB,” with a couple drop variations that would make Lost Dogz fans scream. FRQ NCY chills things out a bit with his “Lit In The Rave” remix. I should mention that both those acts graced the stages of The Untz Festival this summer. Finally, NIK P closes things out with a brutal remix of “It Ain't Bangin'” that would make another Saturate all-star, Chee, very happy.

If dope wasn't on your radar before, this new Saturate Records EP will definitely put Halifax on your map... but if you're anything like me, you'll spend a lot of time with a map actually trying to find it, first.

Get No Filter from Saturate today!


Tags: DubstepGlitchTrap